

APPEALS COMMITTEE

MINUTES OF MEETING HELD ON WEDNESDAY 18 JANUARY 2023

Present: Cllrs Mike Barron, Paul Kimber, Emma Parker, John Worth and Molly Rennie

Apologies: Cllrs Bill Pipe

Also present:

Officers present (for all or part of the meeting):

Vicky Diaz (Transport Team Manager), Becky Woolmington (Senior Casework Officer, School Admissions) and Megan Rochester (Democratic Services Officer)

Election Of Chairman

a) In the absence of the Chair and Vice-chair. Cllr Emma Parker was elected to chair the meeting.

Proposed by Cllr Mike Barron and Seconded by Cllr Molly Rennie.

25. Apologies

Apologies for absence were received from Cllr Bill Pipe.

26. Minutes

The minutes of the meeting held on Friday 2nd December were confirmed and signed.

27. **Declarations of Interest**

No declarations of disclosable pecuniary interests were made at the meeting.

28. Public Participation

There was no public participation to report.

29. Urgent Items

There were no urgent items.

30. Exempt Business

Decision

That the press and the public be excluded for the following item(s) in view of the likely disclosure of exempt information within the meaning of paragraph 3 of schedule 12 A to the Local Government Act 1972 (as amended).

31. Transport Appeals

The Committee considered an appeal against the council's refusal to provide pupils with school transport support.

32. Transport Appeal 1

The appeal on behalf of JH, against the Council's refusal to provide school transport between their home and Ringwood Upper School, be refused.

33. Transport Appeal 2

The appeal on behalf of KC, against the Council's refusal to provide school transport between their home and Wareham St Mary Primary School, be approved up until the end of July 2023.

34. Transport Appeal 3

The appeal on behalf of MW, against the Council's refusal to provide school transport between their home and Beaminster Technology College, be refused.

Duration of meeting: 10.00 am - 12.10 pm

Chairman

.....